The Guibourd-Valle House was constructed for Jacques Guibourd in 1806 in the poteaux-sur-sole style with vertical, hand-hewn log walls and double-pitched roof. This important National Register site is the only historic house in Ste. Genevieve where visitors can view and study
up close the Norman truss architecture employed at the time. The house displays a more refined rendition of the typical French Colonial residence in the era of Lewis and Clark and is finished with elegant French antiques. The museum is owned and operated by the Foundation for Restoration of Ste. Genevieve as a memorial to its donor, Jules Felix Vallé. Admission includes a costumed docent-guided tour. Open daily April through the first weekend in December. It is closed on all major holidays. Group tours may be arranged at any time by appointment.